πŸ“’ Author : Anne Lamott
πŸ“’ Publisher : Anchor
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2000-09-05
πŸ“’ Pages : 288
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0375409173
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : Anne Lamott claims the two best prayers she knows are: "Help me, help me, help me" and "Thank you, thank you, thank you." She has a friend whose morning prayer each day is "Whatever," and whose evening prayer is "Oh, well." Anne thinks of Jesus as "Casper the friendly savior" and describes God as "one crafty mother." Despite--or because of--her irreverence, faith is a natural subject for Anne Lamott. Since Operating Instructions and Bird by Bird, her fans have been waiting for her to write the book that explained how she came to the big-hearted, grateful, generous faith that she so often alluded to in her two earlier nonfiction books. The people in Anne Lamott's real life are like beloved characters in a favorite series for her readers--her friend Pammy, her son, Sam, and the many funny and wise folks who attend her church are all familiar. And Traveling Mercies is a welcome return to those lives, as well as an introduction to new companions Lamott treats with the same candor, insight, and tenderness. Lamott's faith isn't about easy answers, which is part of what endears her to believers as well as nonbelievers. Against all odds, she came to believe in God and then, even more miraculously, in herself. As she puts it, "My coming to faith did not start with a leap but rather a series of staggers." At once tough, personal, affectionate, wise, and very funny, Traveling Mercies tells in exuberant detail how Anne Lamott learned to shine the light of faith on the darkest part of ordinary life, exposing surprising pockets of meaning and hope.


πŸ“’ Author : John Scholte
πŸ“’ Publisher : AuthorHouse
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2009-12
πŸ“’ Pages : 196
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781449048754
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Biography & Autobiography

SYNOPSIS : This book describes a journey through life. While it is intended to entertain, it is also intended to show that when the chips are down one must go on and make the best of things. At the same time, life should not be taken too seriously. As the saying goes, you only live once. A good part of my childhood took place during the war which was a dangerous time for our elders, but for us kids it was all a big adventure. Either way, we got through it! Later, a college education became a must even though my parents felt that we were "working people," and we did not need a higher education. Nevertheless, I persevered and got my education, (with some help from Uncle Sam, ) and it opened worlds to me that I might have never known. The book is not intended to be religious; however, I cannot feel but that God has a hand in things which shows in my life, perhaps not always immediately but upon some reflection. Finally, as I said, the book is intended to entertain. If the reader gets a kick out of it and if it causes him or her to reflect a little upon his or her own life, writing it will have been worthwhile!


πŸ“’ Author : David Williams
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1993
πŸ“’ Pages : 72
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0914086987
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Poetry

SYNOPSIS : Traveling Mercies begins with the poet's family--those who emigrated from Lebanon, and those who remained behind, enduring their homeland's civil strife. His affinity extends naturally into intimate poems about Central American refugees with whom he has worked and Native American children who were his students. Whether he writes a transparent lyric, a resonant narrative, or a poem that proceeds through a series of cathartic images that can bring to mind Lorca's notion of duende, the language sings.


πŸ“’ Author : Heather Land
πŸ“’ Publisher : Simon and Schuster
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2019-05-07
πŸ“’ Pages : 256
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781982104115
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Humor

SYNOPSIS : Social media comedian Heather Land uses her trademark sassy, laugh-out-loud humor to remind us of the many ways that real life can be really funny. Heather Land has something to say about almost everything in lifeβ€”the unbelievable, inconceivable, and downright frustratingβ€”and why she β€œain’t doin’ it.” In her first book, Heather shines a light on the (occasional) ridiculousness of life through a series of hilarious essays, dishing on everything from Walmart and ex-husbands to Southern beauty pageants and unfortunate trips to the gynecologist. I Ain’t Doin’ It reminds us that when it comes to life’s messy moments, it’s all about perspectiveβ€”and that we too can say, I ain’t doin’ it! Perfect for fans of Jim Gaffigan, Anjelah Johnson, and Brian Regan, I Ain’t Doin' It is a fun, breezy read for anyone who appreciates someone who tells it like it is and wants to embrace the lighter side of life.


πŸ“’ Author : Soo-Inn Tan
πŸ“’ Publisher : Graceworks
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2014-06-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 204
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9789810794798
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : β€˜Only those who suffer deeply and redemptively can walk the canyon floor alongside our depressions and afflictions. So this book provides good company and is a good guide through the disappointments, frustrations, and grief of our mortality. Yet the central message of this honest and indeed transparent book is that by God’s grace, in whatsoever state we’re in, there are lessons to learn that β€œgodliness with contentment is great gain”.… When we speak from our lives personally, we share far more than we realise would ever be appreciated by others. Indeed, when I apologize β€œthis is most intimately Me”, it turns out to be β€œmost universally You!” I hope you will find this is true of Travel Mercies, as I have found it to be for myself. Enjoy your reading!’ β€”From the Foreword by Prof. James M. Houston


πŸ“’ Author : Trisha Lain Patton
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2001
πŸ“’ Pages : 218
πŸ“’ ISBN : OCLC:191864720
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category :

SYNOPSIS :


πŸ“’ Author : David A. Davis
πŸ“’ Publisher : Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2007-09-10
πŸ“’ Pages : 82
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780802827470
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : These rich sermons are rooted in congregational life and steeped in Christian doctrine and the celebrations of the church year. A Kingdom We Can Taste reflects one preacher's effort at leading a congregation through the seasons of Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, and Easter. David Davis uses a unique combination of resources -- select Old Testament texts, the Apostles' Creed, lectionary assignments, and more -- in his progression of sermons. Readers who "listen" to these thirteen messages, or preaching conversations, will experience the gospel proclaimed and feel a comforting sense of belonging to the community of faith. This inspiring little volume is perfect for pastors preparing sermons of their own, seminary students looking for a model of good preaching, or laypeople wanting quality meditations to chew on.


πŸ“’ Author : Jonathan Rogers
πŸ“’ Publisher : Thomas Nelson
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2007-11-18
πŸ“’ Pages : 352
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781418587444
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : Experience a Lifelong Conversation with the Living God It's a life-changing conversation when you stop to think about it: Prayers and promises are your precious words to God,and God's to you! Now, with The Smart Guide to the Bible: Prayers & Promises of the Bible, you'll discover how the Bible teaches you to pray in each circumstance you face- and what special promises God has for you in each situation. You'll be encouraged by the examples of those who prayed in the Old and New Testament. And you'll experience more deeply the security and the strength you have in the One who has promised to be with you always. Be Smart About: How to Pray Prayers in the Bible Trusting God What God Promises Different Types of Prayer How God Answers Prayer The Nature of God's Promises And more!


πŸ“’ Author : Thomas P. Power
πŸ“’ Publisher : Wipf and Stock Publishers
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2012-01-13
πŸ“’ Pages : 286
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781630875497
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : Thoughtful Christians are legitimately perplexed by a number of issues relating to the church's belief and practice. They are perplexed partly because they recognize that the issues themselves are thorny, and partly because they are not sure how to test the mutually inconsistent theories and explanations affirmed by diverse voices speaking with equal assurance. Most Christians find relatively little occasion or encouragement to address their perplexities with intellectual candor and integrity. If they dare to acknowledge their theological perplexities at all, they are too often told that these perplexities are unimportant, or that they can be answered very simply, or that they should be left to the experts. Guide for the Christian Perplexed, written by members of the faculty of Wycliffe College, Toronto, aims to explore a diversity of issues and questions to do with o our knowledge of Jesus o the meaning of suffering o the function of doctrine o the understanding of Scripture o the place of other religions o the challenge of atheism o the pleasures and complications of sexuality o the nature of worship o the way to evangelize o understanding who our neighbor is locally and globally o diversities of spirituality Here you will find thoughtful reflections and answers to the questions around these issues. A study guide is included for individual and group use.


πŸ“’ Author : Keshia Dawn
πŸ“’ Publisher : Urban Books
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-01-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 288
πŸ“’ ISBN : 1599831716
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Keithe and his wife of fifteen years, Michelle, have not had a good marriage by any stretch of the imagination. It's bad enough that she neglects him, but she's stepped out on him, bringing home STDs. At forty-one, the handsome Houston attorney needs some real love in his life, and he starts to seek it out. Except Michelle knows all too well what he's up toβ€”and even knows things about his potential prospects he doesn't. And now all of a sudden she doesn't want to let go of him, and will smash anyone who tries to come between her and her man. But Michelle is soon left to realize that her own betrayals are much deeper than she would care to believe in this powerful story of righting wrongs and finding peace in the soul.