πŸ“’ Author : Dan Jones
πŸ“’ Publisher : Penguin
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2013-04-18
πŸ“’ Pages : 560
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781101606285
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : The New York Times bestseller that tells the story of Britain’s greatest and worst dynastyβ€”β€œa real-life Game of Thrones” (The Wall Street Journal)β€”by the author of The Templars The first Plantagenet kings inherited a blood-soaked realm from the Normans and transformed it into an empire that stretched at its peak from Scotland to Jerusalem. In this epic narrative history of courage, treachery, ambition, and deception, Dan Jones resurrects the unruly royal dynasty that preceded the Tudors. They produced England’s best and worst kings: Henry II and his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, twice a queen and the most famous woman in Christendom; their son Richard the Lionheart, who fought Saladin in the Third Crusade; and his conniving brother King John, who was forced to grant his people new rights under the Magna Carta, the basis for our own bill of rights. Combining the latest academic research with a gift for storytelling, Jones vividly recreates the great battles of Bannockburn, CrΓ©cy, and Sluys and reveals how the maligned kings Edward II and Richard II met their downfalls. This is the era of chivalry and the Black Death, the Knights Templar, the founding of parliament, and the Hundred Years’ War, when England’s national identity was forged by the sword.


πŸ“’ Author : Dan Jones
πŸ“’ Publisher : HarperCollins UK
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2012-05-10
πŸ“’ Pages : 672
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780007457496
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : Eight generations of the greatest and worst kings and queens that this country has ever seen – from the White Ship to the Lionheart, bad King John to the Black Prince and John of Gaunt – this is the dynasty that invented England as we still know it today – great history to appeal to readers of Ken Follet, Bernard Cornwell, Tom Holland


πŸ“’ Author : J. S. Hamilton
πŸ“’ Publisher : A&C Black
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2010-07-07
πŸ“’ Pages : 246
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781441157126
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : A complete account of the rulers and politics of the Plantagenet reign.


πŸ“’ Author : Derek Wilson
πŸ“’ Publisher : Hachette UK
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2014-01-02
πŸ“’ Pages : 336
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780857386069
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : England, 1154. As Henry II seizes the throne after years of turmoil, a new dynasty is poised to haul this hitherto turbulent nation out from the Dark Ages and transform it into the nation state we recognize today. Featuring some of England's greatest but also most notorious kings, the house of Plantagenet would reign for over 300 blood-soaked, yet foundational, years. The dynasty provides some of the most evocative names in our history: from the brave yet rash Richard the Lionheart, his treacherous brother John, the hapless Richard II, and the hero of Agincourt Henry V, through to the controversial Richard III. And in this authoritative, intelligent and grippingly written book, acclaimed historian Derek Wilson brings this thrilling era to life.


πŸ“’ Author : Dan Jones
πŸ“’ Publisher : Penguin
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2014-10-14
πŸ“’ Pages : 416
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780698170322
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : The author of the New York Times bestseller The Plantagenets and The Templars chronicles the next chapter in British historyβ€”the historical backdrop for Game of Thrones The inspiration for the Channel 5 series Britain's Bloody Crown The crown of England changed hands five times over the course of the fifteenth century, as two branches of the Plantagenet dynasty fought to the death for the right to rule. In this riveting follow-up to The Plantagenets, celebrated historian Dan Jones describes how the longest-reigning British royal family tore itself apart until it was finally replaced by the Tudors. Some of the greatest heroes and villains of history were thrown together in these turbulent times, from Joan of Arc to Henry V, whose victory at Agincourt marked the high point of the medieval monarchy, and Richard III, who murdered his own nephews in a desperate bid to secure his stolen crown. This was a period when headstrong queens and consorts seized power and bent men to their will. With vivid descriptions of the battles of Towton and Bosworth, where the last Plantagenet king was slain, this dramatic narrative history revels in bedlam and intrigue. It also offers a long-overdue corrective to Tudor propaganda, dismantling their self-serving account of what they called the Wars of the Roses.


πŸ“’ Author : Jack Goldstein
πŸ“’ Publisher : Andrews UK Limited
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2015-04-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 55
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781785381812
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Nonfiction

SYNOPSIS : Why was Edward I also known as Edward Longshanks? What do historians think happened to the Princes in the Tower? Who became known as β€˜The Kingmaker’ and why? And who shocked Europe with the murder of Thomas Becket, the Archbishop of Canterbury? All of these questions and more are answered in this excellent book containing over one hundred facts about the Plantagenets. Separated into sections covering either an individual monarch or era (such as the Angevins or the House of York), the book is perfect for anyone studying this fascinating period in English History as well as those with a general interest in the age.


πŸ“’ Author : William Heseltine
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1829
πŸ“’ Pages :
πŸ“’ ISBN : NYPL:33433074863238
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Great Britain

SYNOPSIS :


πŸ“’ Author : William Heseltine
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1829
πŸ“’ Pages :
πŸ“’ ISBN : OXFORD:600007609
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category :

SYNOPSIS :


πŸ“’ Author : iMinds
πŸ“’ Publisher : iMinds Pty Ltd
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2014-05-14
πŸ“’ Pages : 6
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781921746451
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : Learn about The Plantagenets with iMinds insightful knowledge series. The House of Plantagenet was a royal house of 15 monarchs who ruled England from 1154-1485. The Plantagenets originally came from France, where they ruled a county called Anjou. They were a strange and powerful family, complex and prone to insanity. Their founder, Count Fulk III (known as "The Black"), had his wife burned at the stake in her wedding dress when he discovered she was sleeping with a goatherd. His great grandson, Geoffrey V gave the dynasty its name. The word Plantagenet comes from the name of a flower: plante genet in French, or "common broom." Geoffrey V was said to have worn a sprig of the golden flower in his battle helmet. iMinds brings targeted knowledge to your eReading device with short information segments to whet your mental appetite and broaden your mind.


πŸ“’ Author : W. H. Turton
πŸ“’ Publisher : Genealogical Publishing Com
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-11
πŸ“’ Pages : 274
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780806303307
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Reference

SYNOPSIS :