πŸ“’ Author : Thomas Meriton
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1658
πŸ“’ Pages : 99
πŸ“’ ISBN : ONB:+Z162309802
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : English drama (Tragedy)

SYNOPSIS :


πŸ“’ Author : Ronald C. Weyman
πŸ“’ Publisher : Dundurn
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1996-07-26
πŸ“’ Pages : 111
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0889242682
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : Weyman's memoir evokes the excitement of war and battle, the horrors of danger and loss. And it celebrates the optimism of youth and the healing powers of love.


πŸ“’ Author : Dee Williams
πŸ“’ Publisher : Hachette UK
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2010-01-07
πŸ“’ Pages : 244
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780755373055
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Fiction

SYNOPSIS : When the war changes family life forever, a mother finds strength in her East End community. Dee Williams writes an evocative saga in Love and War, as she follows a family through their wartime endeavours. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Harry Bowling. Living in their two-up-two-down in Rotherhithe in 1938, Eileen and Ronald Wells lead a happy and settled existence with their three daughters, all of whom have jobs, boyfriends and promising lives ahead of them. But soon the storm clouds of war engulf Europe and they suddenly find their idyllic family life thrown into chaos. Throughout the country young people hasten to join up, and Eileen watches anxiously as her two older girls do the same, one in the air force and one in the land army, while the youngest goes into a factory. With her family scattered and the war getting worse by the day, Eileen throws herself into the community, always on hand to help friends and neighbours when tragedy strikes, while savouring any rare moments of celebration. What readers are saying about Love and War: '[Dee Williams'] stories are so brilliant, there is at least one page in every book that reduces me to tears, I am so drawn into the story' 'I absolutely loved this book. From the moment I opened the cover I knew it would be a fab read. Story was great, characters were lovely and it took me back into a previous era. Cried buckets towards the end. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys books set in the war, about a great friendship and hard times' 'This is one of the best books I have ever read - it's brilliant with a great unexpected ending'


πŸ“’ Author : James B. Stockdale
πŸ“’ Publisher : Naval Inst Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1990
πŸ“’ Pages : 523
πŸ“’ ISBN : STANFORD:36105082001079
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : Recounts a POW's period of imprisonment


πŸ“’ Author : Rob Love
πŸ“’ Publisher : iUniverse
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2008-03
πŸ“’ Pages : 340
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780595481224
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Prince Lysander, a great swordsman of Dalria, vowed love would not touch him again. But Lysander didn't count on meeting Princess Gaia, the headstrong daughter of Zeis, the powerful King of Macedae. Zeis, however, plans for Gaia to marry another. Lector, King of Atlantis, is marching across Greece, conquering city after city. Amid the carnage, Lysander and Gaia's love is tested by alliances calculated to separate them. As destruction nears, Gaia and Lysander struggle to unite--P. [4] of cover.


πŸ“’ Author : A. K. Ramanujan
πŸ“’ Publisher : Columbia University Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-05-30
πŸ“’ Pages : 329
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780231157353
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Poetry

SYNOPSIS : 10/13/201010/13/2010


πŸ“’ Author : Tom Digby
πŸ“’ Publisher : Columbia University Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2014-10-28
πŸ“’ Pages : 240
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780231168403
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Philosophy

SYNOPSIS : Ideas of masculinity and femininity become sharply defined in war-reliant societies, resulting in a presumed enmity between men and women. This so-called battle of the sexes intensifies in tandem with dispositions to fight actual wars. These are among the fascinating discoveries Tom Digby shares in Love and War, which describes the making and manipulation of gender in both militaristic and nonmilitaristic societies and the consequences for men and women in their personal, romantic, sexual, and professional lives. Drawing on cross-cultural comparisons and examples from popular media, including sports culture, the rise of Γ’gonzoΓ“ and Γ’bangbusΓ“ pornography, and Γ’Internet trolls,Γ“ Digby shows how misogyny and toughness are deployed to construct masculinity in ways that undermine relations between women and men. Through diverse philosophical methodologies, he identifies the cultural elements that contribute to heterosexual antagonism, such as an enduring faith in male force to solve problems, the glorification of violent men who suppress caring emotions, the devaluation of menΓ•s physical and emotional lives, an imaginary gender binary, male privilege premised on the subordination of women, and the use of misogyny to encourage masculine behavior. Digby tracks the Γ’collateral damageΓ“ of this disabling misogyny in the lives of both men and women, but ends on a hopeful note. He ultimately finds the link between war and gender to be dissolving in many societies: war is becoming degendered, and gender is becoming demilitarized.


πŸ“’ Author : Randall C. Bailey
πŸ“’ Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1990-01-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 224
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780567271501
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Religion

SYNOPSIS : David in Love and War is a reworking of the dissertation that Bailey worked on while at Emory College in Atlanta, Georgia. His interests in literary critical concerns directed him in regards to the information he wanted to cover in his book. Bailey covers 2 Samuel 10 –12 as well as the connection between David and Bathsheba.


πŸ“’ Author : Jim Stockdale
πŸ“’ Publisher : Naval Institute Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1990
πŸ“’ Pages : 536
πŸ“’ ISBN : 1557507848
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Biography & Autobiography

SYNOPSIS : A unique American chronicle of a Navy family's life during the Vietnam War years, this widely acclaimed memoir has been updated to include an outspoken account of the Stockdale's experiences in the seventeen years since Jim's release from a Hanoi prison.


πŸ“’ Author : Liz Trenow
πŸ“’ Publisher : Pan Macmillan
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2018-01-25
πŸ“’ Pages :
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781509825073
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Fiction

SYNOPSIS : From the bestselling author of The Poppy Factory comes this moving novel that brings together a group of women in ways they could never have imagined. July, 1919. At the Hotel de la Paix in the small village of Hoppestadt, three women arrive at the end of the war, searching for traces of the men they have loved and lost to the battlefields of Ypres in Belgium. Ruby is just twenty-one, a shy Englishwoman looking for the grave of her husband. Alice is only a little older but brimming with confidence; she has travelled all the way from America, convinced her brother is in fact still alive. Then there’s Martha, and her son Otto, who are not all they seem to be . . . The three women in Liz Trenow’s In Love and War may have very different backgrounds, but they are united in their search for reconciliation: to resolve themselves to what the war took from them, but also to what life might still promise for the future . . .