πŸ“’ Author : Thanhha Lai
πŸ“’ Publisher : Univ. of Queensland Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2013-03-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 276
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780702251177
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Through a series of poems, a young girl chronicles the life-changing year of 1975, when she, her mother, and her brothers leave Vietnam and resettle in Alabama.


πŸ“’ Author : Thanhha Lai
πŸ“’ Publisher : Harper Collins
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-02-22
πŸ“’ Pages : 288
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0062069721
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugeeβ€”fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabamaβ€”this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. HΓ  has only ever known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. HΓ  and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hopeβ€”toward America. This moving story of one girl's year of change, dreams, grief, and healing received four starred reviews, including one from Kirkus which proclaimed it "enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny." An author's note explains how and why Thanhha Lai translated her personal experiences into HΓ 's story. This updated digital edition also includes an interview with the author, an activity you can do with your family, tips on writing poetry, and discussion questions.


πŸ“’ Author : Thanhha Lai
πŸ“’ Publisher : University of Queensland Press(Australia)
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2013-03-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 276
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780702251160
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : JUVENILE FICTION

SYNOPSIS : Through a series of poems, a young girl chronicles the life-changing year of 1975, when she, her mother, and her brothers leave Vietnam and resettle in Alabama.


πŸ“’ Author : Thanhha Lai
πŸ“’ Publisher : Harper Collins
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2015-02-17
πŸ“’ Pages : 288
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780062229205
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Listen, Slowly is a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year! This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Award–winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family. A California girl born and raised, Mai can’t wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mai’s parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their out-of-touch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesn’t know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Linda Sue Park, Listen, Slowly is an irresistibly charming and emotionally poignant tale about a girl who discovers that home and culture, family and friends, can all mean different things.


πŸ“’ Author : Thanhha Lai
πŸ“’ Publisher : HarperCollins
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2015-02-17
πŸ“’ Pages : 544
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780062411839
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Fiction

SYNOPSIS : Acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Thanhha Lai won the National Book Award for Young People's Literature and the Newbery Honor for her debut novel, Inside Out and Back Again. This collection includes Inside Out and Back Again along with her newest novel, Listen, Slowly. Inside Out and Back Again: Inspired by the author's childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama, this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. For all the ten years of her life, HΓ  has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. HΓ  and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, HΓ  discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food . . . and the strength of her very own family. Listen, Slowly: Twelve-year-old Mia's parents are sending her, along with her father, on a trip to Vietnam so she can learn more about her rootsβ€”and also help her grandmother figure out what really happened to Mia's grandfather during the Vietnam War. Since Mia barely knows the language or customs, she is desperately counting down the days until she can go back home. But the next few weeks are a life-changing experience. As time passes, Mia begins to have a change of heart, growing closer to her family and developing an understanding of a culture and an entire world which that she never really knew about.


πŸ“’ Author : Simon Sinek
πŸ“’ Publisher : Penguin
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011
πŸ“’ Pages : 246
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781591846444
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Business & Economics

SYNOPSIS : Draws on real-life stories and figures, including Martin Luther King, Jr. and Steve Jobs, to examine the qualities a good leader requires in order to inspire and motivate people.


πŸ“’ Author : Linda Bacon
πŸ“’ Publisher : ReadHowYouWant.com
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-01-22
πŸ“’ Pages : 592
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781459609402
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category :

SYNOPSIS : Fat isn't the problem. Dieting is the problem. A society that rejects anyone whose body shape or size doesn't match an impossible ideal is the problem. A medical establishment that equates ''thin'' with ''healthy'' is the problem.The solution? Health at Every Size. Tune in to your body's expert guidance. Find the joy in movement. Eat what you want, when you want, choosing pleasurable foods that help you to feel good. You too can feel great in your body right now - and Health at Every Size will show you how. Health at Every Size has been scientifically proven to boost health and self-esteem. The program was evaluated in a government-funded academic study, its data published in well-respected scientific journals.Updated with the latest scientific research and even more powerful messages, Health at Every Size is not a diet book, and after reading it, you will be convinced the best way to win the war against fat is to give up the fight.


πŸ“’ Author : Gloria Whelan
πŸ“’ Publisher : Yearling
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2010-11-24
πŸ“’ Pages : 144
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780307770189
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Juvenile Fiction

SYNOPSIS : "When Mai's family discovers that Vietnam government soldiers will soon apprehend her father and grandmother, the family slips away in the night. They trudge through the swamps of the Mekong Delta toward the sea. The gut-wrenching trip to Hong Kong is just another step toward a new life, which the family eventually finds. Whelan's characters are distinctive, and her story is riveting, haunting, and memorable, reflecting the human virtues of determination, hope, love, and courage in the face of the most devastating of circumstances and injustices."--Booklist. From the Trade Paperback edition.


πŸ“’ Author : Ram Dass
πŸ“’ Publisher : Harmony
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2010
πŸ“’ Pages : 292
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780517543054
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Body, Mind & Spirit

SYNOPSIS : A social scientist recreates his search for expanded consciousness, through the psychedelia of LSD to the final calm and inner wisdom of Rajah Yoga


πŸ“’ Author : John Kelly
πŸ“’ Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2012-08-21
πŸ“’ Pages : 416
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780805095630
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : A magisterial account of one of the worst disasters to strike humankind--the Great Irish Potato Famine--conveyed as lyrical narrative history from the acclaimed author of The Great Mortality Deeply researched, compelling in its details, and startling in its conclusions about the appalling decisions behind a tragedy of epic proportions, John Kelly's retelling of the awful story of Ireland's great hunger will resonate today as history that speaks to our own times. It started in 1845 and before it was over more than one million men, women, and children would die and another two million would flee the country. Measured in terms of mortality, the Great Irish Potato Famine was the worst disaster in the nineteenth century--it claimed twice as many lives as the American Civil War. A perfect storm of bacterial infection, political greed, and religious intolerance sparked this catastrophe. But even more extraordinary than its scope were its political underpinnings, and The Graves Are Walking provides fresh material and analysis on the role that Britain's nation-building policies played in exacerbating the devastation by attempting to use the famine to reshape Irish society and character. Religious dogma, anti-relief sentiment, and racial and political ideology combined to result in an almost inconceivable disaster of human suffering. This is ultimately a story of triumph over perceived destiny: for fifty million Americans of Irish heritage, the saga of a broken people fleeing crushing starvation and remaking themselves in a new land is an inspiring story of revival. Based on extensive research and written with novelistic flair, The Graves Are Walking draws a portrait that is both intimate and panoramic, that captures the drama of individual lives caught up in an unimaginable tragedy, while imparting a new understanding of the famine's causes and consequences.