πŸ“’ Author : Frances Stroh
πŸ“’ Publisher : Harper Perennial
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2017-05-30
πŸ“’ Pages : 352
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0062393162
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Biography & Autobiography

SYNOPSIS : In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins. Frances Stroh’s earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million. But behind the beautiful faΓ§ade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit’s economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad and likewise the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store. Featuring beautiful evocative photos throughout, Stroh’s memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisalβ€”at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.


πŸ“’ Author : Darin Hayes
πŸ“’ Publisher : Createspace Independent Pub
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2012-09-20
πŸ“’ Pages : 122
πŸ“’ ISBN : 1477646140
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Business & Economics

SYNOPSIS : The problem with most personal finance and investing books is that they complicate simple ideas and contain so much detail nobody ever actually reads them. Beer Money is different. It can be read in an afternoon and presents financial concepts using something you're already familiar with: Beer. Beer Money is organized as a β€œPub Crawl to Financial Success.” Each chapter is a clear, actionable step with guidance on financial decisions you may face. Excruciating detail such as valuation metrics for stocks, estate planning, complicated options strategies, etc. are NOT part of this book. Beer Money is written for anyone who wants the basic building blocks of personal finance and investing.You'll learn the differences between investing in stocks, bonds, real estate and commodities. You'll see how to best use a retirement plan like a 401(k), how to budget better and the importance of insurance. There are examples of different investment portfolios, automatic saving and spending plans and a discussion about the different types of investment accounts such as Traditional and Roth IRA's. The use of beer, easy to understand text and pictures (yes, pictures!) and humor make this a book you will actually read and understand. So grab a cold six pack and a comfortable chair and get started on your own pub-crawl to financial security. Cheers!


πŸ“’ Author : Amir Blumenfeld
πŸ“’ Publisher : Penguin
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2006
πŸ“’ Pages : 349
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0525949399
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Humor

SYNOPSIS : A collection of columns from CollegeHumor.com sheds a humorous light on student life at college, offering advice on a wide variety of topics, from drinking and dating to parents and roommates.


πŸ“’ Author : Pamela Sambrook
πŸ“’ Publisher : A&C Black
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1996-01-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 311
πŸ“’ ISBN : 1852851279
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : History

SYNOPSIS : Until the eighteenth century or even later, beer was the staple drink of most men and women at all levels of society. Tea and coffee were expensive luxuries while water might well carry disease. To supply the needs of both owners and servants, every country house with an accessible source of water had a brewhouse, usually close at hand. Although many of the brewhouses still stand, in some cases with the original brewing vessels (as at Lacock and Charlecote), their habitual conversion to other uses has allowed them to be ignored. Yet they are distinctive buildings - as much part of a country house as an ice-house or stables - which need both to be recognised and preserved. The scale of brewing in country houses, which went on to a surprisingly late date in the nineteenth century (with odd survivals, such as Hickleton in Yorkshire, into the twentieth), was often considerable, if small besides that of commercial brewing. Copious records for both brewing and consumption exist. Pamela Sambrook describes the brewing equipment, such as coppers, mash tuns underbacks and coolers; the types of beers brewed, from strong ale to small beer and how they were kept; and the brewers themselves, their skills and attitudes. English Country House Brewing, 1500-1900 shows the role beer played in the life of the country house, with beer allowances and beer money an integral part of servants' rewards. Generous allowances were made for arduous tasks, such as harvesting. For celebrations, such as the heir's coming of age, extra-strong ale was provided. This book, which is heavily illustrated, is an important and original contribution to architectural, brewing and social history.


πŸ“’ Author : John Crowder
πŸ“’ Publisher :
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2016-05-31
πŸ“’ Pages : 240
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0977082660
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category :

SYNOPSIS : A biblical companion to the happy life ... Learn how gnostic dualism invaded the early church, killed the party and taught you the world was evil. Exposing the lies of religious asceticism, John Crowder hits the controversial topics of cash, booze and nookie - stuff your pastor is scared to talk about!


πŸ“’ Author : Philip Van Munching
πŸ“’ Publisher : Crown Business
πŸ“’ Release Date : 1998-05
πŸ“’ Pages : 309
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0812930355
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Business & Economics

SYNOPSIS : Brewing, a venerable American industry, once was dominated by family-owned firms serving a loyal clientele. In the late 1970s, however, the conglomerates got involved, and the beer wars erupted. In Beer Blast, a veteran of the beer wars (from the famous Van Munching clan, importers of Heineken) shares his wealth of colorful, often amazing stories about the personalities, battles, and follies of the beer biz. "From the Hardcover edition.


πŸ“’ Author : Tucker Max
πŸ“’ Publisher : Citadel Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2009-09-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 336
πŸ“’ ISBN : 0806532343
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Family & Relationships

SYNOPSIS : "My name is Tucker Max, and I am an asshole. I get excessively drunk at inappropriate times, disregard social norms, indulge every whim, ignore the consequences of my actions, mock idiots and posers, sleep with more women than is safe or reasonable, and just generally act like a raging dickhead. But, I do contribute to humanity in one very important way: I share my adventures with the world."--Introduction.


πŸ“’ Author : Johan F. M. Swinnen
πŸ“’ Publisher : OUP Oxford
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2011-10-27
πŸ“’ Pages : 400
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780191505010
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Business & Economics

SYNOPSIS : Beer has been consumed across the globe for centuries and was the drink of choice in many ancient societies. Today it is the most important alcoholic drink worldwide, in terms of volume and value. The largest brewing companies have developed into global multinationals, and the beer market has enjoyed strong growth in emerging economies, but there has been a substantial decline of beer consumption in traditional markets and a shift to new products. There is close interaction between governments and markets in the beer industry. For centuries, taxes on beer or its raw materials have been a major source of tax revenue and governments have regulated the beer industry for reasons related to quality, health, and competition. This book is the first economic analysis of the beer market and brewing industry. The introduction provides an economic history of beer, from monasteries in the early Middle Ages to the recent 'microbrewery movement', whilst other chapters consider whether people drink more beer during recessions, the effect of television on local breweries, and what makes a country a 'beer drinking' nation. It comprises a comprehensive and unique set of economic research and analysis on the economics of beer and brewing and covers economic history and development, supply and demand, trade and investment, geography and scale economies, technology and innovation, health and nutrition, quantity and quality, industrial organization and competition, taxation and regulation, and regional beer market developments.


πŸ“’ Author : Josh Noel
πŸ“’ Publisher : Chicago Review Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2018-06-01
πŸ“’ Pages : 400
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9781613737248
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Cooking

SYNOPSIS : In 2011 Goose Island, a family-owned Chicago brewpub, was sold to Anheuser-Busch InBev, the biggest beer company in the world. The sale forced the craft beer industry to reckon with its growing mainstream appeal and a popularity few envisioned. Anheuser-Busch InBev went on to buy nine more American craft breweries, each sale sparking questions anew. With Goose Island as its flagship brand, Anheuser-Busch InBev stood poised to the become the largest producer of craft beer in the United States, leaving the industry's original innovators to grapple with the transition from scrappy underdog to mainstream, co-opted sensation.


πŸ“’ Author : Scott H. Longert
πŸ“’ Publisher : Ohio University Press
πŸ“’ Release Date : 2016-09-15
πŸ“’ Pages : 272
πŸ“’ ISBN : 9780821445853
πŸ“’ Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
πŸ“’ Category : Sports & Recreation

SYNOPSIS : The Cleveland Indians of 1928 were a far cry from the championship team of 1920. They had begun the decade as the best team in all of baseball, but over the following eight years, their owner died, the great Tris Speaker retired in the face of a looming scandal, and the franchise was in terrible shape. Seeing opportunity in the upheaval, Cleveland real estate mogul Alva Bradley purchased the ball club in 1927, infused it with cash, and filled its roster with star players such as Bob Feller, Earl Averill, and Hal Trosky. He aligned himself with civic leaders to push for a gigantic new stadium thatβ€”along with the team that played in itβ€”would be the talk of the baseball world. Then came the stock market crash of 1929. Municipal Stadium was built, despite the collapse of the industrial economy in Rust Belt cities, but the crowds did not follow. Always the shrewd businessman, Bradley had engineered a lease agreement with the city of Cleveland that included an out clause, and he exercised that option after the 1934 season, leaving the 80,000-seat, multimillion-dollar stadium without a tenant. In No Money, No Beer, No Pennants, Scott H. Longert gives us a lively history of the ups and downs of a legendary team and its iconic players as they persevered through internal unrest and the turmoil of the Great Depression, pursuing a pennant that didn’t come until 1948. Illustrated with period photographs and filled with anecdotes of the great players, this book will delight fans of baseball and fans of Cleveland.